Login
User Name:

Password:



Register

Forgot your password?
Changes list / Addchange
Author: Khonsu
Submitted by: Khonsu
6Dragons mp3 sound pack
Author: Vladaar
Submitted by: Vladaar
AFKMud 2.2.3
Author: AFKMud Team
Submitted by: Samson
SWFOTEFUSS 1.5
Author: Various
Submitted by: Samson
SWRFUSS 1.4
Author: Various
Submitted by: Samson
Users Online
There are currently no members online.

Members: 0
Guests: 27
Stats
Files
Topics
Posts
Members
Newest Member
488
3,788
19,631
595
Khonsu

Today's Birthdays
There are no member birthdays today.
» SmaugMuds » Codebases » SWR FUSS » MProgs not working...
Forum Rules | Mark all | Recent Posts

MProgs not working...
< Newer Topic :: Older Topic >

Pages:<< prev 1 next >>
Post is unread #1 Apr 10, 2010 2:01 am   Last edited Apr 10, 2010 2:07 am by Dekar
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Dekar
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts11
JoinedApr 10, 2010

 
I've successfully compiled swrfuss under cygwin, but when i start swr and create a new char, or enter as the default admin, the mob progs don't work. I didn't do anything to the code, just download, compile, run.

The droid at the academy don't give water or food, the luke skywalker doll girl don't say anything, the girl that talk about the clones, dont say anything too...

Is this a bug or what?

Don't know what to do... if someone could help i would appreciate..

Thanks

Dekar

Post is unread #2 Apr 11, 2010 5:58 am   
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

dbna2
Sorcerer
GroupMembers
Posts600
JoinedDec 3, 2008

 
are you invis?

Post is unread #3 Apr 11, 2010 9:46 pm   
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Stan
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts23
JoinedNov 19, 2005

 
Some progs check character level before executing code following an if statement. I guess this is common behavior. The academy progs are fine for new players last I checked. I was using cygwin.

Post is unread #4 Apr 12, 2010 1:47 pm   
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Dekar
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts11
JoinedApr 10, 2010

 
dban2 -> no, not invis...
Stan -> new players (lvl 1) don't see anything either...

In the case of the luke skywalker doll girl, when you say door/key she cries, but don't say anything...

You say 'door'
A small child bursts into tears.

i think that it's the only thing (prog) working in the academy area...

the food/water droid don't give rations and canteens...
and the others don't do anything in others areas too...

in menari spaceport the "A small child begs for money" dont say "Spare some change?" for example...

Post is unread #5 Apr 12, 2010 3:54 pm   
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Remcon
Geomancer
GroupAdministrators
Posts1,914
JoinedJul 26, 2005

 
#MUDPROG
Progtype  speech_prog~
Arglist   door door? key?~
Comlist   if ovnuminv (10320) >= 1
say You want the key for this door?
point north
say here let me open it for you
mpat 10399 mpoload 10423
unlock north
open north
mpat 10399 drop all
mpat 10399 purge
else
cry
endif
~
#ENDPROG

The program is doing what it was told to do. If the doll had the key it would open the door etc... no key so it just cries.

Post is unread #6 Apr 12, 2010 8:18 pm   
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Dekar
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts11
JoinedApr 10, 2010

 
the code is right, but seems that it don't "start"
the prog code is exactly the same...

try to download/compile/run and create a new character,
then walk to the "clone" girl, food/water droid and the doll girl...

nothing happens...

Post is unread #7 Apr 13, 2010 9:12 pm   
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Remcon
Geomancer
GroupAdministrators
Posts1,914
JoinedJul 26, 2005

 
Ok, this is a code issue. Open up db.c
around line 6055 find
               SET_BIT( prog_target->progtypes, 1 << mprg->type );

change that to this
               SET_BIT( prog_target->progtypes, mprg->type );

around line 6474 find
               SET_BIT( prog_target->progtypes, 1 << mprg->type );

change that to this
               SET_BIT( prog_target->progtypes, mprg->type );


This makes it so it will set the progtypes correctly and they will work again.

Problem is on loading up it doesnt set the progtypes right so it just ignores them lol.

There is also another problem (while not critical it would be annoying) where it changes the order of the programs every time the mud boots up.
For example use the one in your example that gives you the doll if you say yes it has 3 programs the top and bottom will change order each boot up if you boot it up, fold the area, hotboot, fold the area, hotboot, etc... I don't have the time to look into if it is in loading the programs or saving them but somewhere it changes the orders and I think it is in loading since the way they are in the area file will not be how it displays them in the mud after startup.

Post is unread #8 Apr 13, 2010 9:32 pm   
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

InfiniteAxis
Off the Edge of the Map
GroupAdministrators
Posts1,200
JoinedMar 21, 2006

 

Remcon said:

There is also another problem (while not critical it would be annoying) where it changes the order of the programs every time the mud boots up.
For example use the one in your example that gives you the doll if you say yes it has 3 programs the top and bottom will change order each boot up if you boot it up, fold the area, hotboot, fold the area, hotboot, etc... I don't have the time to look into if it is in loading the programs or saving them but somewhere it changes the orders and I think it is in loading since the way they are in the area file will not be how it displays them in the mud after startup.


This is something that happens in just about any Smaug derivative.

Post is unread #9 Apr 13, 2010 10:04 pm   Last edited Apr 13, 2010 10:04 pm by Dekar
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Dekar
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts11
JoinedApr 10, 2010

 
It Works!
Thanks!!! :biggrin:

Remcon said:
"This makes it so it will set the progtypes correctly and they will work again.
Problem is on loading up it doesnt set the progtypes right so it just ignores them lol. "

there's one thing i've seen...
without the Remcon changes...

if i add some prog (just add a prog with anything written in it and then keep or remove it)
or rewrite the prog in the mud (logged in, not in file)
the prog works perfectly...

Post is unread #10 Apr 14, 2010 3:49 am   
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

InfiniteAxis
Off the Edge of the Map
GroupAdministrators
Posts1,200
JoinedMar 21, 2006

 
Now that I think about it. This is probably something I should fix in the bases, huh? Guess I'll get an updated release ready.

Post is unread #11 Apr 14, 2010 4:13 am   
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Dekar
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts11
JoinedApr 10, 2010

 
Dekar said:


if i add some prog (just add a prog with anything written in it and then keep or remove it)
or rewrite the prog in the mud (logged in, not in file)
the prog works perfectly...


just to say that if a mob have 4 progs for example...
and you do anything i've said up here...
not only one but all the progs that the mob have, works...

Post is unread #12 Apr 14, 2010 5:10 am   
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Remcon
Geomancer
GroupAdministrators
Posts1,914
JoinedJul 26, 2005

 
Yea during testing I seen that also which is why I figured that on loading it wasn't setting up what kind of programs it had correctly. And before the change you didn't have to add/delete simply taking and editing one and saving it worked also.

Yea kayle it should probably be fixed in the base :)

Hmm I will have to look into it then if it affects all the bases I've never paid it any attention till now lol.

Post is unread #13 Apr 14, 2010 9:17 pm   
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Remcon
Geomancer
GroupAdministrators
Posts1,914
JoinedJul 26, 2005

 
Well looks like you are right and probably most them do that. I'll be fixing that sometime later in LoP though since I think they should stay in the order they get put in lol.

Post is unread #14 Apr 15, 2010 12:12 am   
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Dekar
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts11
JoinedApr 10, 2010

 
The only thing i need to do is make the changes that is in your post up here?
or there's something else that i need to do?

and the bases will be updated?

Post is unread #15 Apr 15, 2010 12:28 am   
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

InfiniteAxis
Off the Edge of the Map
GroupAdministrators
Posts1,200
JoinedMar 21, 2006

 
I'll be getting the distributions updated sometime soon, hopefully. Dealing with a bit of a server issue atm though, so it's slow going.

Post is unread #16 Apr 15, 2010 5:08 am   
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Remcon
Geomancer
GroupAdministrators
Posts1,914
JoinedJul 26, 2005

 
Yea the posted changes will fix the issue. The one I was talking about in my last post is the part where it changes the orders of the programs each time the mud is ran.

Post is unread #17 Apr 15, 2010 2:40 pm   
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Dekar
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts11
JoinedApr 10, 2010

 

Remcon said:

The one I was talking about in my last post is the part where it changes the orders of the programs each time the mud is ran.


Can you post it when it's done?

Post is unread #18 Apr 19, 2010 8:53 am   
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

MagisterXero
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts44
JoinedFeb 12, 2010

 
Omg! I've been wondering about this same exit problem for about 2 months xDD

Thanks Remcon! It's also happening in the swfote base also, just those 2 lines of code makes this huge of a headache. Geez, lol.

Post is unread #19 Apr 19, 2010 2:37 pm   
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

dbna2
Sorcerer
GroupMembers
Posts600
JoinedDec 3, 2008

 
is this problem is smaug1.4a too?

Post is unread #20 Apr 19, 2010 7:44 pm   
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Sharmair
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts7
JoinedApr 19, 2010

 

dbna2 said:

is this problem is smaug1.4a too?

No. Both the invalid setting of progtypes and the order of load bugs are FUSS specific and
do not effect SMAUG or non FUSS derivatives (at least none I have seen). The bugs specifically
relate to the FUSS tagged area file loading format, so older versions of the FUSSes might also
not be affected.

Pages:<< prev 1 next >>