Login
User Name:

Password:



Register

Forgot your password?
 void nanny_get_new_race -- comm.c
Mar 13, 2025 7:08 am
By Elwood
IPv6
Jan 25, 2025 10:45 pm
By Samson
mudstrlcpy and mudstrlcat
Jan 18, 2025 5:23 pm
By Samson
I3 and IMC
Jan 17, 2025 9:35 pm
By Samson
AFKMud 2.5.1
Jan 17, 2025 2:22 pm
By Samson
SmaugFUSS 1.9.7
Author: Various
Submitted by: Samson
AFKMud 2.5.1
Author: AFKMud Team
Submitted by: Samson
Kayle's Weather Code for AFKMud
Author: Kayle
Submitted by: Samson
AFKMud 2.5.0
Author: AFKMud Team
Submitted by: Samson
SWFotEFUSS 1.5.2
Author: Various
Submitted by: Samson
Users Online
Anthropic, Meta, DotBot, AhrefsBot, Bing, Bytespider, Google

Members: 0
Guests: 9
Stats
Files
Topics
Posts
Members
Newest Member
503
3,812
19,720
592
BiancaLowr

» SmaugMuds » General » User Lounge » New PC Host
Forum Rules | Mark all | Recent Posts

New PC Host
< Newer Topic :: Older Topic > I think I can Host Now

Pages:<< prev 1 next >>
Post is unread #1 Oct 24, 2013 5:37 am   
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Enigma_EQ
Apprentice
GroupMembers
Posts65
JoinedJun 27, 2011

 
Sup guys, just got my old p4 running again... TRying to setup a connection via the ethernet but i need my main pc to be able to share its wireless connection to my lan ethernet connection....

any ideas?

If i can get this running i'll have my mud back online 24/7 woo!

Post is unread #2 Oct 24, 2013 5:50 am   
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Quixadhal
Conjurer
GroupMembers
Posts395
JoinedMar 8, 2005

 
Way too many variables there for us to be helpful. :)

What OS are you running? What OS is your "main" PC? Why not just put the server on a wired connection? Is your "main" PC directly connected to a cable modem or some other ISP-provided thing? Or do you have a proper LAN setup?

What *I* did, to connect a wired device upstairs to the LAN without drilling holes, as buy a cheap 4-port wireless router that I knew I could put the Tomato firmware on. Then I configured that router to act as a wireless bridge in client mode, that is, it used the wireless connection as a bridge for the wired side.

Post is unread #3 Oct 24, 2013 10:35 am   
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Amras
Fledgling
GroupMembers
Posts18
JoinedAug 11, 2008

 
Could always use a free MUD host :P

Post is unread #4 Oct 24, 2013 1:32 pm   
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Enigma_EQ
Apprentice
GroupMembers
Posts65
JoinedJun 27, 2011

 
yeah i'm havign a new problem compiling in cygwin...

I'll post the errors here in just a second.

Post is unread #5 Oct 24, 2013 8:52 pm   
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Remcon
Geomancer
GroupAdministrators
Posts1,992
JoinedJul 26, 2005

 
figure it all out?

Post is unread #6 Oct 24, 2013 10:04 pm   
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Enigma_EQ
Apprentice
GroupMembers
Posts65
JoinedJun 27, 2011

 
Not even close...

Compiling In Cygwin For Smaugfuss19
---------------------------------------------------------
$ make
make -s smaug
Compiling o/imc.o....
imc.c: In function ‘void imclog(const char*, ...)’:
imc.c:212:10: error: variable ‘strtime’ set but not used [-Werror=unused-but-set-variable]
imc.c: In function ‘void imcbug(const char*, ...)’:
imc.c:236:10: error: variable ‘strtime’ set but not used [-Werror=unused-but-set-variable]
cc1plus: all warnings being treated as errors
Makefile:101: recipe for target 'o/imc.o' failed
make[1]: *** [o/imc.o] Error 1
Makefile:46: recipe for target 'all' failed
make: *** [all] Error 2

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Compiling in Cygwin For afkmud 2.1.4
----------------------------------------------------------------------
$ make
Building AFKMud....
make -j2 -s afkmud
Compiling o/bits.o....
Compiling o/build.o....
build.cpp: In function ‘void do_goto(char_data*, std::string)’:
build.cpp:951:27: warning: variable ‘in_room’ set but not used [-Wunused-but-set-variable]
bits.cpp: In function ‘void load_oldbits()’:
bits.cpp:145:28: error: ‘unlink’ was not declared in this scope
build.cpp: In function ‘void do_rgrid(char_data*, std::string)’:
build.cpp:5023:15: warning: variable ‘xit’ set but not used [-Wunused-but-set-variable]
Makefile:169: recipe for target 'o/bits.o' failed
make[1]: *** [o/bits.o] Error 1
make[1]: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....


------------------------------

Thanks Remcon

Post is unread #7 Oct 25, 2013 4:39 am   
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Quixadhal
Conjurer
GroupMembers
Posts395
JoinedMar 8, 2005

 
The compiler told you what the problem was.

The variables in question are set, but then never referenced in any way that would make use of their values... hence a waste of CPU cycles.

Check the code to make sure the act of setting them doesn't have some side-effect that *IS* needed (bad programmers often make functions set global variables while doing other things). If so, and you don't want to refactor the code, you can fudge it by adding another useless line of code to make it "use" the variable in question.

If they really aren't used for anything, comment them out (both the lines that set them AND the variable declarations).

If it's stock SmaugFUSS 1.9, I have a git repository that's fixed all that and also added I3 support, since IMC is a dead horse these days.

Post is unread #8 Oct 25, 2013 1:43 pm   
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Remcon
Geomancer
GroupAdministrators
Posts1,992
JoinedJul 26, 2005

 
Figured it would be an issue with the compiler changes lol. I'll get around to updating the packages to compile cleanly in it soon :)

Post is unread #9 Oct 25, 2013 1:51 pm   
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Enigma_EQ
Apprentice
GroupMembers
Posts65
JoinedJun 27, 2011

 
Yeah, I fixed it..

Post is unread #10 Oct 25, 2013 6:19 pm   
Go to the top of the page
Go to the bottom of the page

Remcon
Geomancer
GroupAdministrators
Posts1,992
JoinedJul 26, 2005

 
nice :)

Pages:<< prev 1 next >>